The 30th anniversary celebration of Metallica’s eponymous “black” album continued on Sunday evening as the band surprised fans by revisiting the 1991 classic in reverse order during their festival closing concert in Louder. Than Life.

Although Metallica promised special sets for the festival, plans to revisit the Black album were not revealed in a few songs. James Hetfield and his team made their way through “Hardwired”, “The Four Horsemen” and “Welcome Home (Sanitarium)” before the detour to revisit the full album.

While the album “Black” is ahead of the upcoming hits, the band started things off with a video interlude before moving on to the closer album “The Struggle Within”. Playing the album backwards then made “Enter Sandman” the last song in the body of their set.

Since it’s not every day that Metallica revisits the album “Black”, several of the songs on the show were making their first appearances in quite some time. As reported by “The Struggle Within” and “Don’t Tread on Me” had not been performed live since June 24, 2012. “My Friend of Misery” also returned for the first time since March 1, 2013.

The set also included a reminder of “Blackened” and “Creeping Death,” the latter returning to the show’s closest for the first time since July 9, 2011. Check out the full roster below and see some fan footage. of the festival show as well.

Metallica 2021 Louder Than Life September 26, 2021 Setlist (including ‘Black Album’ in its entirety)

1. Wired
2. The four horsemen
3. Welcome home (sanatorium)
4. The inner struggle
5. My misery friend
6. The God Who Failed
7. Of wolf and man
8. Nothing else matters
9. Through the never
10. Don’t step on me
11. Wherever I may roam
12. The unforgivable
13. Holier than you
14. Sad but true
15. Enter Sandman

16. Blackened
17. Creeping Death

Metallica Black album Intro to Louder Than Life Festival 2021 (September 26, 2021)

Metallica, “The Struggle Within” at Louder Than Life Festival 2021 (September 26, 2021)

Metallica, “Of Wolf and Man” at Louder Than Life Festival 2021 (September 26, 2021)

Metallica, “Sad But True” at the Louder Than Life Festival 2021 (September 26, 2021)

Every Metallica Song Ranked

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.